Harriers Triumphant at Blackpool and Edenfield

Blackpool Promenade 10 Mile Road Race Sat 31st May 2014

Todmorden Harrier Paul Brannigan took top honours with first place in the Blackpool Promenade 10 Mile Road Race on Saturday. Brannigan and Billy McCarthy of Salford Harriers lead the race out to the 3 mile point by which point a lead group of 4 runners had formed. Shaun O’Dwyer of Bolton Harriers then lifted the pace, but the group let him go. At the 5 mile point Brannigan and road running legend Paul Muller were surprised to see O’Dwyer step off the course leaving the two of them to race for first place. Brannigan maintained a swift pace and by 7 miles Muller was around 100m back leaving Brannigan with a steady run for home and conserving energy for upcoming Yorkshire and British Championships attempts. 20 seconds separated them at the finish with Brannigan’s winning time 58 minutes 34 seconds.

Full Results (PDF – new window)


Edenfield Fell Race Sun 1st June 2014

Todmorden Team Triumphs at Edenfield!

There was a healthy Toddie turnout for Edenfield Fell race on Saturday 31st May. The course turned out to be very runnable.

Andrew Wrench was 4th overall in 47.48. The men’s team won the team prize, with Craig Stansfield as the second counter finishing 9th overall in 49.33. Rob Gray was 3rd counter in 54.20 (24th position). Dave Collins, making a welcome return to running form after a long period spent cycling, was 4th counter for Todmorden – finishing 38th in 55.50. Mel Blackhurst was 1st Toddie lady back, also winning the LV45 prize. She finished 72nd overall in 1.02.29. Kath Brierley continued the winning ways for Todmorden winning 1st LV50 in 1.04.23 (86th position), with Moyra Parfitt taking the 1st LV65 prize in 1.18.47 (158th position) Well done to all Tod Harriers

Todmorden results:

Position name category time
4 Andrew Wrench MV45 00:47:48
9 Craig Stansfield MV45 00:49:33
26 Robert Gray M 00:54:20
38 Dave Collins MV55 00:55:50
61 Kevin Booth MV45 01:00:12
65 Dan Taylor M 01:01:08
72 Melanie Blackhurst FV45 01:02:09
74 Michael Harper MV45 01:02:37
76 Guy Whitmore MV45 01:02:47
86 Kath Brierley FV50 01:04:23
108 David Leslie MV60 01:07:26
140 Helen Wilson FV45 01:14:13
141 Peter Ehrhardt MV65 01:14:28
146 David Wilson MV55 01:15:45
151 Louise Abdy FV50 01:16:48
158 Moyra Parfitt FV65 01:18:47


Full results (FRA website – new window))

Matt FlanaganHarriers Triumphant at Blackpool and Edenfield