Ladies Team Triumphs at Midgeley Moor

Todmorden Harriers’ fell championship continued this Saturday at Midgeley Moor Fell Race. The race, organised by Calder Valley Fell Runners, consistently lives up to its billing of ‘a local classic.’ Route choice is key, with runners able to choose whichever lines they please between the various moorland checkpoints. Or they just follow the person in front and hope for the best! The race starts in Booth and climbs sharply up on to the moor, visiting Crow Hill, Churn Milk Joan and Sheep Stones Trig Point. Many were using this year’s race as ideal preparation for next Saturday’s Flower Scar English championship race, organised by Todmorden Harriers.

Previous organiser of the race, Shaun Godsman, used his good knowledge of the route to win the men’s race, whilst Holmfirth’s Helen Berry came in first lady.

There was remarkable turnout of Todmorden Harriers runners, with 31 Tod vests gracing Midgeley Moor. Both the men’s and women’s teams put in great performances to finish second and first place teams respectively. There was a real tussle between the Toddie men, with Paul Brannigan, Ivan Gee, Chris Goddard and the ever improving John Allen all changing places numerous times. It was the V50 road runner, Brannigan, who came out in top though, finishing a very respectable seventh position, just edging Chris Goddard. Several of the Tod men had been celebrating their success in the Red Rose Cross Country league on Friday night; their race preparation of pints and pies clearly the perfect race fuel. New recruit Pauline May had a fine race, coming 6th lady; her addition to the Tod ladies’ team will no doubt have a positive impact during 2015. Mel Blackhurst continued her fine form in 7th position.

Todmorden Harriers Finishers:

Paul Brannigan. 7th position. 44.08
Chris Goddard. 8th position. 44.11
Ivan Gee. 10th position. 44.51
John Allan. 11th position. 44.59
Dave Garner. 16th position. 45.44
Ben Crowther. 18th position. 46.04
Matt Flannagan. 27th position. 47.30
Dave Collins. 47th position. 50.03
Rob Tyson. 58th position. 51.06
Michael Harper. 60th position. 51.34
Pauline May. 64th position (6th lady). 52.02
Andy Forbes. 66th position. 52.44
Tom Barker. 69th position. 53.17
Mel Blackhurst. 71st position (7th lady). 53.20
Ben Holmes. 74th position. 53.35
Stuart Wolstenholme. 80th position. 54.19
Martin Roberts. 82nd position. 54.24
Paul Cotton. 101st position. 57.22
Guy Whitmore. 109th position. 57.43
David Leslie. 116th position. 58.37
Paul Cruther. 118th position. 58.40
Jane Leonard. 120th position. 58.49
Kirsty Patten. 130th position. 59.35
Fiona Harmer. 135th position. 1.00.29
Chris Preston. 145th position. 1.02.16
Catherine Elvin. 150th. 1.02.41
Ben Beckwith. 163rd position. 1.06.43
Richard Blakely. 171st position. 1.08.34
David Wilson. 172nd position. 1.08.38
Louise Abdy. 276th position. 1.10.22
Peter Ehrhardt. 177th position. 1.10.27
Reg Czudek. 188th position. 1.20.11

Paul BranniganLadies Team Triumphs at Midgeley Moor